Winning Papers awarded at the 2020 Annual Conference on Tire Science and Technology

It is my great pleasure to announce the result of the independent and peer reviewed competition of the contributions to the annual conference of the Tire Society in 2020. The jury of experts in the field was chaired by Barry Yavari. Superior paper, and honorable mention award winners receive a plaque mentioning their achievements. The best student paper is awarded a check of 500 Dollars.

The following papers presented at the previous conference in 2019 received their awards at the conference in 2020:

Superior Paper Award in 2019

Matthew Van Gennip, Kazuki Okamoto, Kohei Miyanishi, Hideaki Kashimata: A Study of the Effect of Tread Design Changes on Tire Patch Dynamics at High Speeds through Use of Dynamic Contact Force Measurement Rig.

Honorable Mention Award in 2019

Christopher G. Robertson, Mark A. Bauman, Jesse D. Suter, Radek Stocek, William V. Mars: Finite Element Modeling and Critical Plane Analysis of a Cut and Chip Experiment for Rubber.

The best student papers are awarded directly the same year based on evaluating both the presentation and the paper. The awardee in 2020 is Alina Israfilova.

Best Student Paper presented in 2020

Alina Israfilova, Mario A. Garcia, Michael Kaliske: Isogeometric Analysis for Tyre Simulations: From Mesh Generation to High Precision.

The Tire Society congratulates all awardees for their brilliant contributions to Tire Science and Technology.

— Michael Kaliske Editor-in-Chief Tire Science and Technology